IFTPS invites papers from students presenting researched progress in methodologies, techniques, system technologies, or other topics relevant to thermal and/or non-thermal processing of food or biological materials including pharmaceuticals to make them shelf stable by inactivating pathogenic and spoilage-causing microorganisms.


All undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in an accredited university program are eligible to enter.

Manuscripts submitted for competition should follow the style provided in J. Food Sci. 55:597.

Only complete manuscripts are accepted (not just abstract). Submit your manuscript in pdf format.


The student author of the award-winning manuscript will receive a cash prize of $2500 and be recognized as a featured speaker at the Institute's annual meeting. The second and third place winners will get $1500 and $1000, respectively and a recognition certificate. All winners will receive free conference and symposium registrations, and a $500 travel grant and up to four nights hotel accomodation for those attending the conference. As well as, a one-year membership in the Institute including the opportunity to utilize IFTPS' career employment services for possible placement within the field of thermal processing.

Selection Process

Manuscripts will be evaluated by a jury of IFTPS members for content and relevance to the advancement of knowledge in thermal and/or non-thermal processing used to produce shelf stable foods and biological materials. Selection of the student recipient by the jury will be final and contingent upon the presentation of the paper by the recipient at the IFTPS annual meeting.

The 2017 Annual Meeting will be held March 7-10, 2017, Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, San Antonio, USA.

Deadline for Submission: January 13, 2017

Please submit FULL MANUSCRIPTS in PDF format by e-mail to Dr. Hosahalli Ramaswamy, Chair, IFTPS Stumbo Student Paper Competition
using the following email:


with subject line clearly marked "IFTPS Charles Stumbo Student Paper Competition"

Past Winners

2016 Winners

1st Place

Robert Sevenich, Berlin University of Technology

1st Runner-Up

Jia You, McGill University

2nd Runner-Up

Vinicio Serment-Moreno, Tecnológico de Monterrey

2015 Winner

Anika Singh, McGill University

A novel concept of stopping agitations mid-way for improving quality of canned green beans processed using reciprocating agitation thermal processing.

2014 Winner

Anubhav Pratap Singh, McGill University

Retort Modification and Evaluation of Heat Transfer during Thermal Processing under Reciprocating Container Agitation

2013 Winners

Navneet Rattan

Kai Reineke

Yetenayet Tola


2012 Winner

The Charles R. Stumbo Student Paper Competition winner for 2012 was Yetenayet Tola (pictured left) from McGill University foir his paper High pressure acidification of carrots: a rapid and uniform pH reduction method for processing and production of acidified low acid foods shown here receiving his award from Board Chairman Rick Kimball

2011 Winner

The Charles R. Stumbo Student Paper Competition winner for 2011 was Hussein Hassan from McGill University for his paper Biological Validation of Bi-axial Rotation Processing Using Carrot and Meat Alginate Fabricated Particles shown here receiving his award from Board Chairman Rick Kimball


2010 Winner

The 2010 winner was Gaurav Ghai from the University of Florida for his paper Measuring and predicting in-package pressure profiles during retorting of thermally processed food products

Back to Awards Home